top of page

New at Sephora: May 2018 #1: Huda Beauty

Already available online, and coming to store 5/21: Huda Beauty Obessions palettes in Coral and Gemstone.

I already own all four of the other Obsessions palettes. So, honestly, my first thought when I saw them was “yes, I have to have the full set.” Ridiculous? Yes. I know. But, I quickly grabbed a hold of my senses and took a step back and thought about it.

First off, looking at both palettes, they seems very similar to some of the other Obsessions palettes releases— specifically Warm Browns for the Coral, and Electric for Gemstone. So, I kind of dismissed them. However, looking at the swatches is what made the difference for me. I think the tones are different enough that I could honestly justify getting these two new ones.

I do think I will wait to be able to see & play around with them in-store, but for now they are going on my wishlist.

I will say that I think that Huda is absolutely genius for these palettes. The smaller sizes really let her make each one specifically for certain colors and tones. Theoretically, the can release new ones semi-annually for years. So next, for example, she could release a blue/green palette. Then one for all pastel colors. I think that was her thought process, and is a genius way to keep up with color trends without having to release huge, full-sized palettes.

What do you guys think? Are they too similar to the other Huda Beauty Sessions palettes? Are they too similar to shadows you currently have in your collection? Would you be interesting in buying more palettes if she released them as I am predicting she will? I’d love to hear from you. Let me know in the comments below.

Thanks for stopping by!

bottom of page