top of page

Spring Cleaning: Winter Empties, Pt. 1- Skincare & Body

Hello, Beautiful People!

Welcome back to my blog! I know we are well into the Spring season, but I still wanted to share with you all of my final thoughts and reviews for all of the products that I finished up this past winter.

As I mentioned in my “First Empty of 2018” post, I think final reviews are the truest and most useful. By the time a person is done with a product, they have had ample time to wear it, test it under different conditions, pair it with different products, etc. So, without further delay, let’s get into my Winter Empties, Pt. 1- Skincare & Body.

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water All-in-1

Claims:

“This all-in-1 bi-phase cleanser is surprisingly powerful yet gentle to skin. It is specially formulated to effectively cleanse, remove even waterproof/longwear makeup, and refresh. Like a magnet, micelles capture and lift away dirt, oil and makeup without harsh rubbing, leaving skin perfectly clean and refreshed without over-drying.” -garnierusa.com

Final Thoughts:

This was the first micellar water that I ever used. I thought it did a great job of removing my makeup, especially the waterproof version.

Did it live up to its claims? Yes. I think it definitely did.

Repurchase? Only the waterproof formula. Otherwise, I am happy with my current makeup wipes.

 

Origins GinZing Refreshing Eye Cream

Claims:

“This morning-after eye cream with coffee beans, panax ginseng, magnolia extract, and natural optic brighteners rapidly wakes up tired eyes. It helps reduce dark circles and unsightly bags, refreshing to restore a radiant look.” -sephora.com

Final Thoughts:

I loved that this eye cream smelled like citrus. It was definitely a refreshing scent for the morning. The pink color seemed to help brighten my under-eye area on my more tired days, but overall, there was nothing noticeably great about it.

Did it live up to its claims? Yes.

Repurchase? No.

Shea Moisture Youth-Infusing Eye Cream

Claims:

“Instantly illuminate and give a brightened appearance to eyes with this nutrient rich, hydrating eye cream. Formulated with mineral light reflectors, this eye cream leaves skin looking more youthful and refreshed. A blend of Kukui Nut and Grapeseed Oils delivers moisture and powerful antioxidants, beta-carotene and Vitamins D, C and E. Leaves eyes looking younger and more luminous.” -sheamoisture.com

Final Thoughts:

This cream was very thick and felt very hydrating to my under-eye area. However, that thickness made me not want to wear it under makeup. Since I usually wear my eye creams during the day (to help prevent any powders from settling into fine lines and also drying out the area) AND at night—this one does not work with my lifestyle.

Did it live up to its claims? I’m not sure about the more youthful-looking under eye area claim, but yes to the hydration and luminosity.

Repurchase? No.

 

e.l.f. Nourishing Night Cream

Claims:

“This Nourishing Night Cream is the perfect formula to nourish your skin. The soothing cream is filled with skin hydrating ingredients that are infused from jojoba, aloe, cucumber, and shea butter.” -elfcosmetics.com

Final Thoughts:

This night cream really did not do much. It was very thin and loose, like a daytime moisturizer. I like my nighttime moisturizers to do a little more.

Did it live up to its claims? It doesn’t claim to do much other than nourish the skin. So, yes.

Repurchase? No.

 

Dr. Lili Fan Probiotic Recovery Cream (Ipsy sample size)

Claims:

“Restore smoother, firmer, younger-looking skin with this powerful anti-aging moisturizer that helps firm and hydrate the skin, while treating the signs of aging. Loaded with our patented peptides and natural vitamin C, this combination helps to enhance natural collagen reproduction and brighten complexion to a radiant glow...Infuse deep, rich hydration.” -drlilifan.com

Final Thoughts:

I used this cream on days when my skin was really acting up. I loved the refreshing, bright citrus scent that it had. It was the perfect. Intermediate consistency—it was light, but still felt rich enough that it was actually doing something.

Did it live up to its claims? I didn’t notice any firming or brightening effects, but I did not use it everyday.

Repurchase? Probably not. It’s $68 for the full-size, and I’m happy with my current moisturizer.

 

Schmidt’s Natural Deodorant in Bergamot & Lime

Claims:

“Award-winning formula helps neutralize odor naturally

Plant-based powders help absorb wetness without the use of aluminum

Non-greasy, non-sticky feel. Easily absorbed; application requires only a small amount” -schmidtsnaturals.com

Final Thoughts:

I love this deodorant. I have purchased it in various scents, but this one is my favorite. I sweat heavily, and this absorbs wetness decently well (it is not an antiperspirant so there is wetness) and keeps me smelling and feeling fresh. This is the only natural deodorant (and deodorant, period) that I use and feel 100% confident recommending to everyone.

Did it live up to its claims? Yes. 100%

Repurchase? Always.

 

Well, there we have it folks. Those were all of the products that I finished up this winter, and were able to clear out during my beauty spring cleaning.

What did you finish this winter?

Thanks for stopping by!

bottom of page