top of page

2 of the Same? ABH Modern Renaissance vs Soft Glam

Ever since it was announced, the ABH Soft Glam palette has been compared relentlessly to its older sister, Modern Renaissance. Well, as someone who never owned either, I decided to give them both a try.

First, I must admit that looking at both of them online, I really was convinced that they are extremely similar. However, once I saw them side by side and swatched and compared, I can honestly say that they are totally different. I will say that there are 3 shades that are common to both palettes, but that is mostly where the similarities end. When held side by side, you can immediately tell that they are totally different tones. The Modern Renaissance is warm-toned, while Soft Glam is almost completely neutrals.

I tried to critically look at the two of them to see if I could create the same look from them, but aside from the 3 duplicate colors, I could not. I even swatched the shades that looked similar to each other and the tones are so different that there really is no duping.

Top to Bottom: Raw Sienna (MR) & Rustic (SG), Primavera (MR) & Glistening (SG),  Buon Fresco (MR) & Dusty Rose (SG), Red Ochre (MR) & Mulberry (SG)

In my opinion, as someone who enjoys soft, everyday looks I think that both palettes are a great addition to my collection. If I HAD to pick a favorite, I would say that it would be Soft Glam only because the brighter pinks from Modern Renaissance are less my style for an everyday office look. However, I am happy to own both and don’t feel like I have two of the same at all.

What do you guys think? Have the pictures and swatches convinced you? Or do you think that Soft Glam is more of the same?

Let me know in the comments.

Thanks for stopping by!

bottom of page