top of page

Battle of the Brands: Lip Stains: YSL vs Dior

Hello beautiful people!

Have you ever found yourself unable to decide between similar products from different brands? This new series- Battle of the Brands - is here to help.

For my first installment, I am bringing to the ring, two brands in a category that I am OBSESSED with for Spring/Summer: Lip Stains. The two that I have been wearing most recently are the Yves Saint Laurent Tatouage Couture Liquid Matte Lip Stain & the Dior Addict Lip Tattoo.

Let’s start with YSL:

Here are the key specs from sephora.com:

Yves Saint Laurent Tatouage Couture Liquid Matte Lip Stain

“What it is:

A lightweight lip stain with a revolutionary formula for ultra-matte, high impact color and a lightweight, naked-lip feel.”

  • Lightweight

  • Non-drying

  • Up to 8 hours of wear

  • Tattoo-like color

  • Applicator allows for precision outlining & filling in

After months of wearing this product I can definitely say that almost every one of these claims is true.

Pros:

  • ✔️Lightweight

  • ✔️Up to 8 hours of wear

  • ✔️Tattoo-like color

  • ✔️Applicator allows for precision outlining & filling in

Cons:

❌Non- drying

I do not think it is actually possible for an ultra-matte lip product to be non-drying. So, I wish companies would stop making that claim. That being said, this is in no way as dry as a traditional matte liquid lip. Honestly, for the most part, I totally forget that I have it on. After a full day of wear or several days of wearing the same formula, my lips do feel dry and are in need of a more moisturizing lip product.

Dior:

Key specs from sephora.com:

Dior Addict Lip Tattoo

“What it is:

A no-transfer lip tint that stains lips with 10-hour, natural-looking color and a weightless, bare-lip sensation.”

  • Weightless

  • 10-hour wear

  • Light & transparent wash of color for natural, subtle color

  • Comfortable

  • Luminous finish

After wearing this product for a solid month, I can say that, like the YSL stain, most of these claims are ALSO true.

Pros:

  • ✔️Weightless

  • ✔️Light & transparent wash of color for natural, subtle color

  • ✔️Comfortable

  • ✔️Luminous finish

Cons:

❌ 10-hour wear

This product is definitely not long-wearing. No. Just no. I have to reapply multiple times throughout the day.. and that’s not even including reapplications after eating or drinking something.

Battle Winner

Yves Saint Laurent Tatouage Couture Liquid Matte Lip Stain

I LOVE this product. It is extremely long-wearing, comfortable & YSL has a HUGE range of colors to fit every mood and makeup look. Unlike the Dior stain, once this one is on, it’s on. You may need to touch up after eating something oily, but you can mostly just forget about it. That is key to me when choosing a stain. I love it so much that I bought two more shades during the Sephora Spring VIB Sale (check out what else I bought in my haul post).

For spring/summer I like a stained look versus a heavy opaque lipstick. This is a perfect alternative to a liquid lipstick. It gives more color than a tint, but is somewhat sheer and very light. It gives a slightly carefree, effortless look to your makeup. With some lighters colors, you can even wear them with a bare face just to add a little something.

bottom of page