top of page

First Empty of 2018: E.L.F Hydrating Serum

Hello beautiful people!

While I truly love a first impression review just as much as the next beauty lover, I feel like everyone can only give the best reviews once a product has been used long-term. You can see all of the pros and cons, how it may have affected your skin, daily wear, etc. That being said, I have finished my first product of 2018 and I am ready to give its final review!

E.L.F. Hydrating Serum

Claims:

“Designed to help strengthen the skin, this Hydrating Serum locks in moisture. The formula helps soothe and protect the skin with jojoba, aloe, vitamin E, grape, and shea butter for ultimate nourishment.” - elfcosmetics.com

This serum felt like an extremely thin moisturizer. For the ingredients that it lists- aloe, shea butter, vitamin E- I expected it to have more weight to it. For people with dry skin, I honestly do not this this would have done anything at all. For me, it is hard to say because I only used this at night & immediately followed it up with another moisturizer & a night cream. (Note- I have combo oily skin.)

Bottom line- would I recommend this or repurchase it? No, I really wouldn’t. I may recommend this for my super oily girls who really need an ultra lightweight serum. However, I still feel like there are better options out there. Stay tuned for some upcoming skincare reviews for a whole range of skincare products that I have been loving, including a serum.

Well there you have it…While I did get a lot of use out of this product (I used the entire thing), I would not repurchase it.

What products have you guys finished up or almost finished up so far this year? Let me know in the comments below. Do you have any serum suggestions? I’d also love to hear those.

**A version of this post originally appeared on 2 Classy Ladies blog.

bottom of page